Return of the Living Dead

Things are picking up around here, so maybe it’s time I post a bit of an update. I’ve been pretty much out cold for the past three days, skipping classes and staying in bed, but it’s probably been for the common good. I mean, I haven’t really been able to do anything (let alone stand up straight for more than a few minutes straight) and I would hate for my friends to catch what I have. So, really, it’s been almost a week since my last real update. What has gone down in Johan-land except me being sick?

Well, Friday was a real blast.. Spend it with Christian, Tina and Zascha. We went shopping together after school then back to Tina’s apartment to hang out, play games, have a few beers and cook up some dinner. No vegetarians around this time, so I managed to cook up some kick-ass spaghetti bolognese stuff (I mean, not to toot my own horn, but Tina demanded that I write I’m a good cook! Sorry..) that was enjoyed by all and left us all with a pretty decent tummy ache from over-eating.. Whoops! Tina even accused me of making her eat way too much.. Hey, it’s not my fault you don’t know when to stop while you’re ahead of your game 😉 We shared a few bottles of wine over dinner, so by the time we’d finished dinner and a few more games, we were in a pretty good mood.. Such a good mood, actually, that we were not only making up songs but also performing them at the top of our lungs.. Which seemed like a much better idea at the time than it did days later when you saw the result on video.. Blasted camera phones! 😉

After a while of raising our spirits and moods, we made our way to the Uboat for a bit of party and a few beers. Here we ran into Dunkel and a few of his friends who were apparently having a party upstairs and seemed rather drunk and messed up.. But then, when it comes to Dunkel, that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Some pretty outrageous things were done that night. For example we made a real good attempt of stealing six unopened beers from the table next to ours after the people sitting there had left for an extended period of time – this resulted in a raised finger from one of the bartenders and in the girl sitting at the table – Mette, I believe – coming over and grabbing her bear back, stroking my hand affectionately and telling me “That’s not a nice thing to do, sweetheart..”  Quoi? Wish I could always get away with things that easily.

Other outrageous stuff included sing-a-long songs, a bit of drunken line dancing and even Justin trying to tear down the bar using nothing but his own body.. And yes, for those interested, I have a video of him hurling himself into the bar in an effort to take it down. On a more serious note, I had a really good talk with Christian lasting way past 3 AM.. We have a way of really talking things through over a couple of beers.. Good times! I left the Uboat at around 4 AM, I think and made my way home to catch some well-deserved sleep.

Saturday, I actually managed to get up pretty early and spend the late morning just laying around and winding down for a bit before I got on a train to Nyborg. My half-sister’s daughter, Izabella, was getting baptised Sunday and I’d opted to help with the preparations for the party following the formalities. So I got there at around 2 PM and went to help set up tables, decorate and what not which proved a somewhat stressing affair for some.. My dad’s wife, Birthe, and her daughter, Mie, in particular. I suddenly realised that I probably have a bit more experience in setting up parties and handling general logistics than the average layman.. But hey, that’s not a bad thing, right? 😉

After we were through setting up, I went home and cooked dinner for the family, an activity which was interrupted by Mie who suddenly came bursting in in tears, crying her little heart out at how she’d forgotten to put napkins on the plates or something equally silly.. Geeze, poor thing, apparently planning something like this for the first time can be right exhausting 😉 When dinner was done, Birthe was ready to call it a night, so my dad and I sat down with a bottle of wine and a movie I hadn’t seen in ages; Hook! Actually, I hadn’t seen that particular movie since it was out in theaters ages and ages ago.. And I remember being completely captivated by it back then, so re-watching it on DVD proved nothing short of a captivating experience.. Definitely a movie which I’d highly recommend to anybody with even a slight hint of an inner child and love for adventure.

The movie was soon followed by a bit of interrupted sleep before I rose once more at 8 AM the next morning to get ready for church at 10. Now, I’m not really a church person which was probably proved by the fact that Dennis, the father, and I managed to now only throw up the devil horns once or twice but also curse quite a bit during the ceremony, but other than that, I must say that the whole thing was rather nice. After the ceremony, we went back for a bit of dinner and family fun, a dinner which eventually proved fatal for me.. Or well, I still don’t know if it was the food or someone in the bunch who passed something on to me, but at any rate this is where things started to go downhill. The food was delicious, the company was great and I was having a good, old time except for some sudden stressful moments.. But it was sometime during this extravaganza, that I sniffed up the bug which has cost me four days in bed so far.. Gah!

Oh well, the whole dinner thing in itself went well, and even the cleanup afterwards went rather smoothly. We made it back at around 7 PM (having left at 9 AM) and wound down for a while with a bit of left-over food and some drinks.. It wasn’t till around 10 PM that I started feeling somewhat faint and wobbly and decided to call it quits and head to bed with the intention of getting up at 6:30 AM to catch a train back to Kolding and my morning classes.. That never happened, though, I couldn’t sleep as I started feeling more and more queazy.. I’ll spare you the details, but let’s just say that the most of my night from midnight and onwards was spend leaning over the toilet bowl.

As could be expected, I never made it to classes the next morning, I was simply too sick and exhausted to board a train.. Instead I caught a ride with my dad who was heading to work in Kolding that evening anyways and went straight home in bed, hid under the covers and, well, pretty much stayed there for the next couple of days..

Until today, actually, which would be Wednesday and also the day where I’m finally starting to feel remarkably better. I’m really hoping that by tomorrow, I’ll be back on my feet.. I’m so sick and tired of being sick.

Leave a Reply

