Getting our geek on with the Nintendo Wii

Last night I visited Dunkel for the first time in like.. forever. Iben is still taking guitar lessons from him and since I hadn’t really had a chance to hang out with any of them in ages (other than the memorable stint last Saturday) I decided to tag along, bring a few beers (or 25) and have some fun.

Iben really is making progress with her guitar playing, but still Dunkel and I couldn’t resist the temptation of poking a bit of fun at her attempts.. Like I’m one to talk anyway. So near the end of her one hour session, we ended up spending more time laughing than playing guitar, whoops! The real fun, however, started when Iben had finished playing and I noticed Dunkel’s “brand new” Nintendo Wii console. I’d been wanting to play with the Wii for a long, long time and now was my chance.

For those of you who might have been living under a rock for the past year or so, the Wii is Nintendo’s newest game console which features motion sensing controllers so that your movements in the game are determined by your body movements.. Which naturally makes for a hell of a lot of fun, especially at parties. My first date with the Wii came with Wii Sports, the game that comes bundled with the console, which is basically a bunch of mini sports games. I started out by kicking Iben’s ass pretty convincingly in Tennis and in return having my ass handed to me by both Iben and Dunkel in Bowling. After a brief crash course, I gave up on golf as it involved too much coordination of movement, something that’s hard enough for me to do even while sober, let alone after five beers.

After a brief date with Golf, we switched to Rayman Raving Rabbids which really saved the night. The game is pretty much impossible to describe, it’s a huge bundle of fucked up mini-games which in one way or another involves inflicting harm upon bunnies.. Good times! 😀  We must’ve played this game for like three hours straight or so (Geeks, anyone?). Penny showed up at some point and joined the fun and while I kept getting my ass beat (surprisingly, I was only good at the games which involved moving your arms in tune with music or pumping your fist up and down for minutes on end.. Hmm), I still had a good ol’ time.. If I somehow suddenly end up with too much money on my hands, I’m totally buying a Wii!

At around midnight both Penny and Iben had left as they had work today. Dunkel and I instead sat down, listened to a bit of music, drank some more beer and generally had a good old time with a couple of punk tunes and an acoustic guitar. I also got to listen to two new Volbeat tracks: One entitled “The Garden’s Tale” which sounds totally awesome in my head but is obviously a bit of a change in style to a more punk-ish, moody kinda blend.. And hey, it features Danish guest vocals by a guy named Johan (of MagtensKorridorer fame) so that’s a stamp of approval right there, right? The other track, “River Queen”, was a bit of a disappointment. It’s not bad, it just sounds a LOT like “Caroline Leaving”.. A bit of variation would’ve been nice. That being said, I’m now looking forward to the upcoming album release and tour even more than I were just a few days ago.

Anyways, this whole listening and jammin’ session pretty much ended the night, as it turned out we’d kept it going til way past 3 AM which was a bit scary for just two people on a Thursday, so we decided to call it quits and head back to our respective beds.. Another great night in the company of the Dunkel had come to an end!

Oh, by the way, I’ll be leaving town for a few days to go visit my dad and his family.. Mmm.. Free food and the likes. I reckon I’ll be back on Tuesday in time for Tina’s final exam and a bit of celebrating.

One response to “Getting our geek on with the Nintendo Wii

  1. I had a great day yesterday, I spent 12 hours trying to learn guitar, with the amp at full volume. My buddy let me play in his barn out back on his farm. Oh so much fun was had!

Leave a Reply

