The Garden’s Tale

Apparently a lot of visitors have come here in search of the lyrics to Volbeat’s new song “The Garden’s Tale” .. Well, I live to please, and it’s an awesome song.. So here they are:

Volbeat – The Garden’s Tale

Time keeps painting my darling
Ripped all the flowers in the garden
Oh baby come home, you angels bring her home

Imens står solen over højen
Han mindes den sommer hvor hun strålede
Forsvandt i haven grøn, og træernes sang hun fandt

Time keeps painting my darling
And the garden keeps on singing the old song
Oh baby still I am waiting in the light
Hoping the angels would carry you home

Den sang tog mørket i sin pote
Den bar hans kvinde i dens kolde favn
Og lagde hende for hans dør i silkekjole

Hoping the angels would carry her home
Leaving it all with my only friend
Her beauty was lifeless on the stair
Oh baby I´ll carry you away into the garden´s tale
But everything (had) died and turned to stones
I laid her down under the old oak
Seeing it all blossom forever more


Time keeps on painting my darling
And the garden keeps on singing the old song
Oh baby now I know you´re in the light
Painting it all with your colorful songs

Imens står solen over højen
Hans skygge kastes ud i haven grøn
Forsvandt for evigt og uden en note
Hoping the angels will carry will carry him home

Leaving it all with my only friend
Her beauty was lifeless on the stair
Oh baby I´ll carry you away into the garden´s tale
But everything died and turned to stones
I laid her down under the old oak
Seeing it all blossom forever more

Time keeps painting my darling
Ripped all the flowers in the garden
Oh baby you´re home, you angels where are you.

Oh, in other news, I just got my ticket for Volbeat’s show here in Kolding on 3 March

28 responses to “The Garden’s Tale

  1. Pingback: Whoa, Nelly! « Random drunken rants

  2. Joachim Selliken

    You have a slight mistake in your rendition of the lyrics. Right after the last verse in Danish (where you say “Imens står solen over højen
    Hans skygge kastes ud i haven grøn
    Forsvandt for evigt og uden en note
    Hoping the angels will carry will carry her home”) it is actually “Imens står solen over højen
    Hans skygge kastes ud i haven grøn
    Forsvandt for evigt og uden en note
    Hoping the angels will carry will carry him home” but thanks for the excellent work of publishing the lyrics.

  3. Huh, really? I’ll have to check that. To be honest, I just copied the lyrics forwarded by a contact and posted them since so many people seemed to be looking for them 🙂

  4. Can’t beleive it, been searching for good new music when I came upon a video with this song on it, took me a while to search for the lyrics in google since its a little hard to understand him, but all volbeat songs apparently are awesome, finally, another good band I havn’t ever heard before.

  5. I’d have to agree, all Volbeat songs really are awesome 😉

    Thanks for dropping by, I’m glad you were able to find the lyrics and hope we’ve helped create another Volbeat fan!

  6. Dude I am indeed a new volbeat fan, you were the most attractive link in google 😉 now Im searching for the tabs, but the current tabs don’t exactly meet my expectations on ultimate-guitar tabs, and don’t include the solo part either, guess ill have to improvise…

  7. Check it out, I found the solo chords:

    1st part: Am – F – Am – F – G – Bsus4 – Dm – Ab – E5

    2nd part: Am – F – Am – F – G – Bsus4 – Dm – Ab – E5 – C

  8. Awesome, maybe someone will appreciate those. Thanks for contributing 🙂

  9. I´m danish, so I understand what it is he is saying. But thanks for the lyrics 😀 They will maybe help other people understand better.

  10. who can translate this text on POLISH?? please

  11. after the last danish bit it should be:

    Leaving it all with my only friend
    Her beauty was lifeless on the stair
    Oh baby I´ll carry you away into the garden´s tale
    But everything died and turned to stones
    I laid her down under the old oak
    Seeing it all blossom forever more

    ..and then the last bit you got 🙂

  12. You’re absolutely right, Rikke.. Actually it was left out as it was an obvious repetition of another part of the song.. But just for you, I’ll put it back in 😛

  13. I´ll have to say, that Volbeat is the best thing that has happened on the Danish music scene in a long long time.. ;o) Power, energy og kick-ass beats. The album is perfect at 120 dB volume in my car – hehe.. Love “A Garden´s Tale” with Johan – it really works..
    Thanks from a new fan..

  14. I would have to agree with that.. Definitely the best thing in a long time! 😀 And I love how this song just won’t die! Always good to see new fans out there!

  15. omg omg omg ❤ magtens korridorer og volbeat at skanderborg festival.. it was awesome.. you should have seen them!

  16. Hehe.. Yep.. Judging by the pictures ( http://www.volbeatforum.dk/viewtopic.php?t=1349 ) it was quite a show 😀 Kinda sad to have missed it.

  17. Can someone give me a translation on the non-english phrases?
    Thanks!

  18. Knowing fully well that literal translations don’t often offer much poetic justice:

    While the sun rises over the hill
    He remembers the summer when she shone
    Disappeared in the green garden, and the song of the tree’s she found

    That song took the darkness in its paw
    It carried his woman, in its cold arms
    And put her at his door in a silken dress

    While the sun rises over the hill
    His shadow is thrown in the green garden Disappeared forever and without a note
    Hoping the angels will carry her home

    Slightly modified from http://www.volbeatforum.dk/viewtopic.php?t=79

  19. I didnt even know about Volbeat before I saw them perform “The Gardens Tale” in the Zulu Awards not long ago.

    Awesome beat and cool lyrics!

    Possible a new Volbeat fan here 😉

  20. Wow, I don’t really know how anybody could not have heard of them by now.. But glad you enjoyed the performance! 😉

  21. AWESOME

    I got ‘radio girl’ from a friend, then I started seeking at YouTube, ‘the garden’s tale’ was my first shot, and I loved it immediately!

  22. I went to a Metallica concert at Madison Square Garden, and Volbeat opened for them. I remember them playing the “American Dad” theme song, transitioning right into the harsh drum beat in “The Human Instrument”. Ever since then, I’ve been a 100% volbeat fan. I bought all of their albums and converted a friend into a VB fan. Thanks so much for these lyrics, A Garden’s Tale is my favorite song!

  23. You’re very welcome, glad you liked them! Oh and I’d loved to have seen Metallica at MSG.. Not to mention the American Dad/Human Instrument transition you mention.. Color me jealous!

  24. The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but your posts are not alike. Keep it like this.

  25. Very good blog post. I definitely appreciate this website.
    Thanks!

  26. Increased controlled sugar distribution helps with protecting against excess fat storage and food craving.
    In most of the pure green coffee bean extract reviews will do the needful,
    sans any physical activity, genetic factors and predispositions, slow body metabolism, unhealthy and irregular
    eating habits, lack of physical activity or exercise, and healthier eating habits.

  27. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh
    updates and will talk about this blog with
    my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  28. Thus before taking any pure green coffee bean extract reviews.
    The internet has a large impact on the other hand herbs of Slim-N-Trim capsules?
    This makes it important for you to try!

Leave a Reply

