VOL-FUCKING-BEAT!!

3 March, 2007, Godset, Kolding, Denmark.. Volbeat live and in color at 9 PM!

For our usual loyal crew, the party started at around 2 PM when Iben, Robert, Mads and I kicked off our warm-up session by getting hold of a case of beer and watching Slayer’s “Still Reigning” DVD and then listening to Volbeat on pretty much constant rotation. Our little party was soon joined by a bunch of other people and eventually there were 10 of us, getting in the mood by throwing down a few beers, a little booze and listening to metal-a-plenty. Eventually (finally!) the time came for us to pack up, leave and make our way towards Godset, the local venue. We were in pretty high spirits by now, not drunk by any means, just psyched up and ready to go!

When we were arrived, we were kinda shocked to see the number of people that had already arrived, but still we were able to make our way right up to the front of the stage and position ourselves pretty much dead centre in front of the new security rails that had obviously been put up sometime after the last time we saw the guys. Maybe they figured with the craziness last time around, they’d better get some rails.. Who knows? 😉 Either way, we knew from the start that things were gonna get pretty rowdy that night. Maybe because Ricki had some success in starting a small mosh pit even before the warm-up band had hit the stage, heck even before any background music was pouring from the speakers.. But apparently his own chants of “WE’RE GONNA RUN AMOK!” was enough for him.

I’d been sorta interested to see the warmup band, Powderhog, I’d only heard one song of theirs and frankly didn’t like it much, but people kept telling me how awesome they were, so I figured I’d just have to wait and see.. And boy did the ever impress me. They were actually pretty damn good and really helped set the mood. In record time we had a pretty big mosh-pit growing behind us and a couple of girls in the crowd were starting to look a little uncomfortable while the rest of the crowd were starting to look hot. After about 30 minutes, the warm-up band left the stage leaving a strange aura of suspense which just kept growing in the 30-40 minutes it took for Volbeat to set up for their performance.

Thankfully the sound tests and setting up didn’t take as much time as it did last time I saw the band but in the end, we were still growing a little impatient when the lights finally dimmed and an extended intro to “The Human Instrument” started playing followed by a thundering roar from the crowd and an enthusiastic chant of “Volbeat, Volbeat,Volbeat!” The cheering and applause continued as the band hit stage one by one and before I knew it, we were into the opening riff and all of us were thrashing left and right, singing along, raising the horns and what have you in classic heavy metal manner.

The boys seemed generally flattered by the reaction of the crowd and were many times forced to just stop and smile or laugh between songs unable to really get a word through because of the lot of us chanting our appreciation and support. The songs from the new album (a few copies of which were actually thrown to fans by the band) were greatly appreciated by the crowd and despite it only having been out for a few weeks, people were still thrashing and singing along just as they did with the old songs. My favorite tracks included “Sad Man’s Tongue” and “Radio Girl.” Radio Girl, especially, was a huge live experience.. There’s just something about you and a couple of hundred other people screaming “FOR HELVEDE!!!!” at the top of your lungs during a song without as much as a weird stare in return.

The setlist included a great mix of new tracks and old tunes. “Rebel Monster” off their first album beat the living shit out of my neck and head and litterally left me dizzy well into the next song. Songs such as “Soulweeper,” “Something Else Or” and “Always WU” have already become classics in my mind, and the band once more delivered an awesome live cover of Dusty Springfield’s “I Only Wanna Be With You” which featured not only one hell of an evil opening growl from lead singer, Michael Poulsen, but also me singing parts of the chorus as he suddenly shoved the microphone in my face.. Interesting.. I think I managed to fuck up the lyrics, too, good job.. But then again, I’d been moshing and headbanging quite a lot in the minutes leading up to the incident and to be honest it wasn’t exactly funny at times, like when people were delivering stiff elbows to your face and neck in an attempt to squeeze past you, or when we had to use Robert as a weapon and have him lean against the crowd and then have three or four of us pushing against him in an effort to hold back a wave of crazy Czech people.

That aside, the remainder of the concert was a blast! I did recognize a few familiar faces. A couple of guys from the last show I attended came over and shook my hand and told me good job last time and whatever, which was kinda crazy, but oh well.. We did go relatively nuts last time. I also spotted André from the Volbeat forums, but he was too busy taking a bunch of awesome pictures to pay notice to me.. But that’s okay, I totally forgive you, buddy, I stole a few of your pictures for my Flickr account in return. I did manage to get one person’s attention, though, During an incredible performance of “The Garden’s Tale” where the entire crowd really got into the song, I look up to the right of the stage and notice Tinepigen, aka Jon the drummer’s girlfriend, who I’d exchanged a few words with online, standing there, smiling at me and throwing me a few finger gestures. I quickly throw up the horns and somehow manage to go even more crazy.. Which, in retrospect, I’m glad I did, because just afterwards, Jon is about to go hand his drumsticks to the crowd and Tine actually walks over with him, verifies my identity and then points at me telling him to hand me one of the sticks. He tries doing so, but in the confusion, it’s grabbed by someone else. Tine now grabs the other stick and tries to hand it directly to me but sadly someone snatches it right out of her fingers.

Oh well, I shrug my shoulders and thank her for at least trying, thinking that’s pretty much the end of it and preparing myself for the encores instead, when suddenly I get tapped on the shoulder, spin around and notice Tine standing there and in what to me can only be described as a totally unreal move, grabs hold of me and drags me through the crowd, through the security rails and behind the stage backdrop, telling me that “I need that drumstick!” So I’m pretty much handed the experience of a lifetime, getting to stand there right on the edge of the stage with her, sharing one of the bands beers and listening to the encores AND then being personally handed one of Jon’s drumsticks after the show is over.. Totally fucking unreal! I’m not really usually at a loss for words, but I think pretty much the only more or less coherent words to leave my mouth at that time was “Wow!” and “Thank you, thank you, thank you!” – So to those of you wondering why I’m still praising this band for their dedication to their fans, well there you go! Thanks is but a humble word.

As the show ends and I dash back out to my friends not wanting to overstay my welcome, I’m pretty much in a state of euphoria. My neck and head have stopped hurting, my bruises seem less important and eh, life’s just generally good at the time 😉 I remember purchasing a t-shirt as I’m pretty much drenched in not only my own sweat but also that of the people that were surrounding me at the front of the stage, so I figured I needed a change of clothes before grabbing my jacket and moving on. As I move on and walk by myself back towards the city center, there’s a great feeling in the air, people are ecstatic and happy, singing and laughing, I’m offered a beer by a couple of perfect strangers as I walk by their car.. They even offer me several hundred Danish Kroner for my drumstick, but as the real fan boy that I am, I hang on to it.

The perfect evening comes to an end sitting on the fire escape staircase of the Student House with Tina, watching the lunar eclipse, sipping champagne and getting a well-deserved neck massage for my trouble.

6 responses to “VOL-FUCKING-BEAT!!

  1. Det var sateme en feee koncert! Masser af genial musik samt autografer til mig (og Presley og Cash :P)!

    Du må undskylde, at jeg ikke kom ned til Studenterhuset bagefter, som aftalt; jeg prøvede at finde det efter at Penny og mig havde tåget lidt rundt på Daisy uden den store druk (waste of time!).

  2. Det var VILDERE!!

    Og det går sgu nok, antog i bare var blevet hængende ved Dunkel, hvilket som sagt også var godt nok med mig..

    Kørte også selv den ret vilde stenerstemning, det eneste jeg havde fået til at bringe min væskebalance på ret køl var jo en øl af Vol-drengene og -pigerne, en øl af nogle stenere på vejen hjem, og så lige noget der lignede 0,4L champagne som velkomstdrink i ‘Huset.

  3. Sucks man! Why’d I have to work that night… 😦
    Wanted to be there too.

  4. Sheesh, looking out for one girl was hard enough.. 😉

    But yea, you kinda missed the concert of a lifetime there, sorry babe.. And by the way, I never took you as being a hard rock kinda girl.. Penny must’ve had some influence on you.. 😉

    Godt gået, Penny-mand! Op med håret!!

  5. There’s a lot you don’t know ’bout me boy… 😉

    But yeah, he’s influenced me a little. Although I knew a bit from ex. Stone Sour before. And Metallica – who doesn’t love them?

    A girl from my work at Føtex was at the concert too. She was also influenced by her boyfriend when they met. So I do actually have a girl I can talk rock with. 😀

  6. Who doesn’t love Metallica? Hmm.. Well, for starters it seems that about half of the Internet crowd hates them these days 😉

    Regardless of how or why it happened, I’m just glad the word is getting out there and that more and more people are starting to share my appreciation for this wonderful band.. Err.. Volbeat, that is, not Metallica. Though I do love Metallica as well.

Leave a Reply

