And still I wonder..?

Wow, I actually made it through the day without dropping dead or anything. And that’s despite working on our assignment all day, going to meetings, dragging my bike to the shop, and getting the living daylights scared out of me by Zascha who dropped by unexpected and knocked on my kitchen window while I was prancing around in my own thoughts, cooking dinner.

In a move that’d probably prompted anyone but me to wonder, she dropped by to have me give her a slap over the fingers for spending too much on a gala dress – and of course to show off her dress.. And still I wonder why people think we’re together? πŸ˜‰ I mean, just because we walk around finishing each other’s sentences, bicker uncontrollably every now and then, she irons my shirts while I cook for her, we go shopping together, and she turns up to have me slap her fingers for spending too much on a dress.. No, I really don’t get it.. Or, well, maybe I do. But hey, that’s just us.

Funny, really, that it can be so hard for people to understand that it’s perfectly possible for a guy and a girl to be just friends. I mean, it’s not like I blame people for getting the wrong idea every now and then, it’s just funny that they maintain their crazy ideas. I’m just a guy who happens to be good at making female friends and then that’s it.. Nothing more, nothing less. Actually, I think Christian once told me that I probably handle girls better than any other straight man in the world and that anyone who had a better grasp on these beautiful creatures would have to be gay. I really don’t know about that, but I thought his analogy incredibly funny.

It’s humorous, though, that even with the age we’ve reached now, people think it more or less impossible that you could be just friends with the opposite sex.. Maybe they should think about what such a deal actually has to offer; I mean, the obvious advantages aside, a female perspective offers not only insight into the crazy world of the female mindset, but also aids me in understanding myself and the world around me at times – and that’s coming from someone who thought he understood himself and the world pretty well.. And that’s something worth treasuring right? And something worth pursuing

To be honest, following some of the experiences I had with my ex, who started out being just my best friend for years and years, I was starting to lose faith in that whole idea of platonic love between men and women, but I guess – once again, and thankfully – I was wrong. And now would you look at my life..

Oh God, the irony of it all: I have a half-sisters who looks on me as the big brother she never had, but in return, I look at Zascha as the little sister that I never had, while others look at her as my lawfully wedded wife. There’s Tina whose parents are still having trouble telling me from her boyfriend, Jakob, probably owing to the fact that we are pretty generous with endearments towards each other and actually refer to each other as boyfriend and girlfriend. Then there’s Emelie who I, despite having been seen holding hands in public and what not, have never had a romantic relationship with. Which is probably only topped by my relationship with Iben whom I’ve actually done some stuff with on a couple of occasions without there being more to it than just friendship (admittedly, that IS kinda weird!) .. And then of course there’s Mette who declared herself the fifth girlfriend who was not really my girlfriend.. Wait, maybe I’m starting to see why there’s some level of confusion here.

What’s the point here? Besides me being tired and in a rambling mood? Well, I wish people would realize that it is more than possible for guys and gals to be friends, even publicly affectionate without there being more to it that just that. I mean, it’s not like I mind people thinking I’m really together with these lovely girls – hah, I should be so lucky πŸ˜‰ on the contrary, I just find it rather humorous.. I still wonder how on hell I’d be able to have time for so many supposed girlfriends, let alone how I’d keep sane with so many better halves around.

Boy that got off track pretty quickly, maybe I shouldn’t be allowed to blog while tired.. See, that’s the difference between me and rational people. Where Emelie chose to send us a letter telling us she appreciates our friendship, I rant on tiredly for the world to see and laugh at. The message, however, is much the same – and all that just from a poor (literally now) girl dropping by to get a well-deserved slap over her fingers.

4 responses to “And still I wonder..?

  1. Good rant πŸ™‚ And I agree with it. πŸ™‚

    And btw, miss ya πŸ˜› Good to read you stuff here every once in a while and see that you’re alive and doing well (and drunk) πŸ˜‰

    Also trying to install WordPress to my new shiny web space for the fun of it, but can’t find a right folder with all these new things… argh!

  2. Hey wow, you still alive over there? πŸ˜€

    Miss ya, too, actually.. Saw a WordPress user named Tallulah the other day and actually got to thinking about you and listening to the CD sent me back in the dark ages when Berit and I broke up.. Good times! πŸ˜€

    Good to see you’re still around.. And yea, web admining is a bitch, I recommend WordPress.com’s free blogs πŸ˜‰

  3. Hey..!! I actually find myself to be the very proud owner of the title “your fifth non-girlfriend” πŸ˜€ So don’t worry, you have a lot of love in all of us I could imagine… πŸ˜‰

  4. I’d imagine, too πŸ˜‰ And I do appreciate it.. I’m a lucky bastard, me! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

