Flash sucks!

Okay, picked up my interactive media exam assignment today.. As expected the assignment consisted of designing a Flash application.. Nothing useful, in fact it consisted of designing one of those horrific website intros that we’ve all grown to hate.. With a stipulation that it had sliding images, texts and the whole shebang! Lovely! Just great!

I’ve never really worked with Flash much before and I guess now I know why.. The whole thing is just decidedly illogical. It might be easy to use as some claim, but if so, you’d have to be a fuckload of a lot smarter than me for it to make sense. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve had to discard all changes and start over due to some small wrong move rendering my entire project unusable.. And don’t even get me started on usability and the application of ActionScript, Flash’s built in scripting language.. For shaaame!

Either way, it’s at times like these that my stubbornness becomes one of my greatest assets, I suppose. I have a way of just refusing to give up on IT-related issues so after some 10 hours of toying about, only interrupted by a cozy little meeting at the Student House, things actually started to make sense and the framework for my application was eventually completed.. Toying with the idea of pulling through the night and getting it over with, but I have a feeling that a certain selected few would label that a very bad idea and that it would also render me entirely useless tomorrow.. So better just put it down now and continue tomorrow.

On a related note, I actually found this assignment pretty mean.. Not fair testing us on stuff we’ve never studied in class.. Nothing more to relate, exam periods suck.

16 responses to “Flash sucks!

  1. Flash is OK to work with. There are about a hundred ways of doing everything, which is both a plus and a minus. But holy shit…those crappy Flash websites everywhere…they are so bad. Shame on your teacher for making you design a Flash “intro” – those things should be banned by the Geneva convention.

  2. Hehe! Thanks for dropping by, I’d have to agree wholeheartedly about the Geneva convention thing.

    I’m sure Flash is all great and stuff, I just have a nasty habit of hating on things that don’t work in quite the way I want them to 😉

  3. who doesn’t? :p

  4. Umm.. Well, uhh.. Those crazy people that stand up for that whole idea about giving everything a chance and peace, love and hippieness? 😉

  5. Flash sucks—and have always sucked! End of story!

  6. have –> has 😉

  7. Engrish are hart! Don’t worry, even us English students make those slips every now and then 😉

    And you know what, I think you may be right! I’ve actually yet to see a valid use of flash.. Other than the drinking game Dunkel found once.. But heck, I don’t even remember half of that shit 😀

  8. hahahah! hippieness! was that a hint ? 😉

  9. You just showed anti-hippieness in supporting my attack on everything not making sense, didn’t you? 😉 In other words, no it wasn’t, my poncho-wearing freak 😀

  10. hah! I believe I did.

    My poncho rocks. Actually it caused a hell lot of attention at the SPOT festival…more than I noticed…have I been told 😀

  11. Funny how that seems to happen, I kinda recall you saying something like that happened at the Student House, too 😉 I suppose people are just not used to seeing ponchos these days.

  12. hehe…yes that did happen. But in a different kind of way. At the SPOT festival, people even talked about it and mentioned my name “poncho-Rikke”. People I didn’t even know. Don’t ask me where they know my name from…didn’t know I were so popular.
    I’ve also heard that I’m known as “poncho-Rikke fra Kolding” in Copenhagen…even people I haven’t met before, calls me that. Hmm.. people talk. But I don’t care 🙂

  13. Haha.. You’re kinda like Onkel Dunkel, famous in places you haven’t even been. I’ve actually seen something like that before, there’s this guy at Volbeat concerts who’s simply known as “Mr. Jacket” due to an incredibly ugly jacket he likes to wear at concerts.. He’s kind of a legend nationwide as well. Good times 😀

  14. wow…haha! weird! so the same thing seems to have happened to me. funny 😀
    Semi-kendis….that’s me!

  15. Semi-celeb..? Well, from what I understand, you’re at every spot concert in all of the land, somebody’s bound to notice you along the way? 😉

  16. haha.. not every spot concert… but yes, I often am at the right spots at the right time. so it’s no wonder that people recognize me and my poncho…although I haven’t worn it so much during this winter because of my green jacket that also proved to be popular one particular evening at Godset…. 😀

Leave a Reply

