Anti-social

For some reason, I’ve got Anthrax’s classic “Anti-Social” playing in my head.. Well, I suppose I know why. I guess yesterday I found out that in many aspects I can be a very anti-social person. Or, well, I don’t know. I’m just not very good at the whole family thing, I suppose.

I knew spending almost a full week with only my family and away from my friends was gonna prove a bit of a struggle, and it really has. I don’t know why, there’s just something about closeness that ticks me off, I guess.. Which is odd, quite frankly. I suppose I just need my own personal space. Why, I don’t know, I seem to be able to spend all my days hanging around with the boys and the girls, but from time to time I just need to be alone. And not only that, the need seems much more evident when I’m with family than when I’m with friends.. Which led me to conclude that maybe I feel more at home and more safe and able to be myself when I’m with friends than when I’m with family. Strange, I suppose, but that’s just how it is with me. And, honestly, I spend more time with my friends than I do with family – so it’s not a big wonder to me that I should feel closer to them than to people living half way across the country.

Either way, spend about an hour and a half walking around town last night pondering these things, enjoying the chance to spend some time on my own and sucking in that odd ambivalent feeling of loneliness that I got on the side.. I shouldn’t be left to ponder life and feelings for too long at a time.. Look where this is going!

Oh well, at least I got an update out of it.. Not really much to say from over here as nothing much is going on. I’ve managed to read most of Stephen King’s “Bag of Bones” in little over two days which is about as exciting as things get.. Then again, sometimes you do need to wind down and as I remembered, Bag of Bones is actually a really good book.. I should go finish it while I wait for my delivery.

Leave a Reply

