What’s to say about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows?

Right.. So in my continuous quest to figure out how not to do things, I have apparently now also taken to taking the lives of innocent plants.. At any rate, as it turns out, if you’re actively trying to grow live herbs in your windowsill then taking a pan and heating it to the point of smoking before adding a measure of boiling broth is not the smartest thing to do.. The result is not only a weird fog smelling strangely like chicken but also a grey-ish chicken infused basil plant.. Of the dead variety!

Ah, but I’m side tracking – I merely intended to display my newest stint of stupidity.. Well, actually my only (more or less) constructive action performed these past few days.

As you may well have imagined, I’ve been more or less locked up reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.. I’ll wholeheartedly admit that I don’t know what it is with me and these books. As much as I always want to take jabs at J. K. Rowling for some obvious flaws in her writing and for being rather unoriginal, I can’t deny the fact that she spins one hell of a captivating and easily read story. I honestly only abandoned the story in favor of sleep, food and a bit of much needed exercise.

I’ve been sworn to secrecy as regards the plot of the book from a couple of people whom I know actually read this blog, so I’ll be nice and not give anything away.. Instead I’ll merely mention a few observations:

If you liked the other books, you’ll more than likely love this one. In my mind it’s easily better than the last couple of books. If, unlike me, you don’t pay attention to and think too much about silly little holes in the logic or the story, you’ll probably enjoy it even more. Yes, all the lose ends are tied up. Yes, everything is explained. Yes, most of it was predictable but still captivatingly told.

And finally: Yes, I was pissed with the ending. But that’s something to discuss later or elsewhere. All I’ll say, without spoiling anything is..

I’ll challenge anyone  to tell me that the story would not have been a hell of a lot better, more complete and less silly if it had just ended at the end chapter 34.

Still, a good, entertaining read which I finished at somewhere around 6:30 this morning, so needless to say, I’m a bit groggy right now.. There, don’t think I said too much!

Leave a Reply

