The Cult of Mac

Admitted, I’m a whore.. An Apple whore, that is! Which is probably why I am now the proud owner of a spanking new, black 80 GB iPod Classic! Not that I’d actually planned on buying one today. Not even like I woke up thinking “Hey, guess I’ll go buy an iPod today!” No, really, it all just sorta started with me being bored with my studies. I then decided to give it a break and go mail a letter that was long over due. Before I knew it, one thing sorta led to the other and I was on my way to the shopping center, carrying a DKK 500 gift certificate and my debit card.. And, well, to make a long story short, about an hour later, I returned in the other direction, smiling brightly and packing a brand new, shiny Apple toy.

Yes, Apple, so sue me! 😉 The truth is, I take a lot of flak for being an Apple fanboy! But hey, that’s okay, I’ll live. Truth be told, I’ve no idea what people have against Apple, all I know is that I like their products. Sure, they may not be the least expensive products on the market, but if people wanna buy their Sandisk MP3 players and bulky PCs and then label me an idiot for buying a pretty, usable alternative, then so be it. Besides, as far as bang for the buck goes, Apple isn’t THAT much more expensive than other alternatives.

In all honesty, I am a firm believer in using the right tool for the right job, also when it comes to computers and gadgets. I guess it’s true what they say, though, “once you go Mac, you never go back”. Really, it just seems to me, hence the title of this post, that for the last couple of years, the Mac and the iPod has been the right tools for me. Not that I haven’t messed around with alternatives:

I was a loyal Windows user from Windows 95 up till about Windows 2000.. And I was pretty happy with it. I mean, it always seemed clumsy and counterintuitive to me and rather silly and inferior, even compared to the AmigaOS that I used to play with in my childhood. XP and I just never really hit it off, which is probably why I, around 2001, switched completely to playing around with various flavors of Linux and BSD which gave me a lot of good times and a lot of bad, frustrating times as well, but all in all, it was a learning experience. And yes, in my opinion a properly set up Linux environment was a hell of a lot prettier, a hell of a lot more efficient and a hell of a lot more stable than a Windows machine.. It was the whole setting up process that could be a bit of a drag at times 😉

Enter 2005 and a lot of events leading up to my first Mac purchase started occurring. I’d been a happy iPod owning Linux geek for a few years and suddenly my trusty old desktop machine started acting up on me. Apparently a couple of years of 24/7 usage takes its toll. Anyways, my trusty old laptop was getting a little outdated as well, so I started browsing around. At the time, my buddy, Kenneth, had gotten an iMac (desktop Apple) from his employer and after playing around with it for a little while, I was sold. I started saving like a mad man, sold off my old trusty laptop (which is still going strong, I hear) to another friend and forked out the cash needed to buy an Apple iBook.. And well, my life has just never been the same.

Sure, it took some getting used to, but what new product doesn’t? And unlike Windows, the Apple user interface is actually intuitive.. I mean, just look at the iPod and imagine a computer operating system as simple an intuitive as that.. I mean, what is there to hate? I mean, I don’t blame people for being skeptical if they base their opinions about Apple on the Windows versions of iTunes, Quicktime or whatever, because admittedly those do suck, but that’s probably as much owing to Windows as it is to Apple, because, as I tell people, once you try the same applications on the Mac, they just work, and as with everything else, integrate seamlessly and flawlessly..

So, I’ll go and enjoy how my new Apple toy integrates seamlessly with my old, trusty Apple laptop and its Apple software, and try to ignore the cries of “you’re strictly paying for the design”, “it’s too damn expensive” and “it doesn’t play Doom 3!” (wait, I think Doom 3 is available for Mac.. Well, feel free to replace “Doom 3” with a game of your choice.

Leave a Reply

