Summer’s (almost) Gone, and the jig is up

It’s become such a cliche, but I’ve come to realize that time really does fly when you’re having fun. In many ways it seems only mere days ago that Dunkel, Tina, Penny, Fons and I kicked off the summer by zooming off to Nürnberg to get our drink and our metal on at the Rock Am Park festival.. And in other ways it seems ages and ages ago.. Funny how that all works..

Oh but it’s been a good summer.. I’ve bled, I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I’ve attended shows by bands I’ve ever only dreamt of seeing – some of them for free, I’ve had my fair share of beers, whisky, rum and absinthe, I’ve met rock stars and partied with German punk rockers.. Heck, I’ve even snorted powdered sugar off a glass table.. It’s been fun, it’s been hard, and I’m pretty sure my liver hates me.. Non, je ne regrette rien!

One thing I certainly did not expect when I kicked off my summer on a grassy field in the center of Nürnberg, Germany, listening to a pretty impressive live rendition of Kid Rock’s “All Summer Long” was that this song was in many ways gonna be the story of my summer. Of course, back then I had no idea that by the time I returned home, I’d be chased down downtown by Louise on a cold summer night and chat her up for what proved to be the beginning of a beautiful friendship which just recently turned into a little more than just a friendship.. Yea, I guess the jig is finally up on that one. Yea, I guess it’s not the surprise of the century, but should you be one of the two people out there who haven’t yet figured it out or had the though.. Yes, Louise and I are a couple now and we have been ever since the day after that fateful day of denying everything at the football game.

Funny how that work, I guess you can only spend so long denying things to the world.. And yourselves. I guess everybody saw it coming.. Everybody but ourselves, and Penny evidently.. But what can you do? I’m so stoked!

So, what’s left to do? I really don’t know! I’ve got about 11 days of summer vacation left, I’ve got a pubcrawl for new uni students coming up next Friday, I’ve got a family I’ve grossly neglected (and vice versa) and I’ve got a a shitload of shifts at work coming up in the next few days, oh and I still have a promise to keep about updating this site more frequently.. I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

Leave a Reply

