Monday, fucking Monday!

Not really in the mood for typing up a long rant.. And it would be a negative angry one at that anyways.. Long story short, I thought I was doing better, turns out I wasn’t.. I was feeling just fine last night but apparently a night’s sleep goes a long way.. Bummer. Still, I made my way down to uni to see if my jacket had been returned – thinking that some drunken idiot might have mistaken it for his own Friday.. Which seemed to be the case as I found a somewhat similar jacket down there, but not my own.. Damnit!

I also found all the flags flying half post which is always a depressing sight on a small campus, especially since a lot of my friends apparently knew the dear person that passed away.. No fun, so I went back home pretty quickly where I, yet again, quite quickly passed out, feeling sickies and crappy as ever. I was out cold for a few hours before I woke slightly and decided to call in sick at work. When I did, my boss asked me if I could cover three extra shifts a couple of weeks from now which I of course agreed to and sank back under the covers. All was fine and well for a few hours before I was awoken by my phone. It turned up to be someone higher up in the GLS hierarchy who first apologized for calling me while I was sick, then calmly, nicely and professionally explained to me that the three shifts I’d just taken would be my last with the company as they’d been forced by the “current financial situation” to lay off all extra help.. The essence of the message being: Sorry you’re sick, you’re fired, you can pick up your pink slip next time you’re at work.. MOTHERFUCK!!

Course, I can’t really be mad, I kinda knew it was coming. Work loads had been dropping. I just figured with working two positions and being asked to work so many extra shifts, I’d be in the clear for at least a few more months.. And I really didn’t need the news to break on a day like today.. Bugger..

So, how was your Monday?

Leave a Reply

