There is no Polish cough!

Dunkel and I ran into our buddy Lars at a local supermarket today.. Well, actually, we ran into both Einar, Kristian, Lars – and I’d just hours before ran into Jesper as well.. But that’s not what I wanted to talk about.. What I wanted to mention is that we ran into Lars.. A very worried Lars – who seemed to cringe a little at my ever move and slight cough.. “Are you alright, man?” he initially inquired looking at me skeptically.. “Jens told me you were going through this thing.. What was it? Polish cough or something.. And I’ve been reading all this stuff on Facebook.. Is Polish cough even a real symptom?!”

Laughing and coughing at the same time, I could put poor Lars’ mind at ease.. No, there is no Polish Cough..It was a simple, but persistent throat bug.  I thought that was very clear, but apparently not.. I do, however, find it exceedingly funny that Dunkel, Jens and I have managed to apparently make up a disease in one of our states of extreme intoxication and later on have also managed to gather enough of a cult following behind the idea for people to be genuinely worried that a small scale epidemic of a so-called Polish cough was sweeping through town.. Man, I’ll have to admit that, come to think of it, that does sound pretty menacing.

Oh man, with Salah coining the term “Beijing Fever” to explain my recent week’s flu attack, I shudder to think of what people will be thinking of me now.. I’ll probably be lucky to not have half of town shying away from me by the next time I’ll show myself in public. 

In other news, my brain has sorta started working again.. And my body, too. I’m no longer sleeping 14 hours a day and I’ve actually started working on my thesis again. Which is a far shot away from saying that I’m not happy working 9 – 5 and getting everything done as planned.. Umm, we’re not quite there yet.. But I am down to 8 hours of sleep per night and am getting up at more and more reasonable hours as well as putting more and more thoughts and hours into my thesis. It’s surely keeping me busy and believe it or not – it feels great! But then again, I’m the kinda guy that likes keeping busy.. Which is kinda weird since I’m also the kinda guy that can feel perfectly content goofing off all day.. I just can’t feel happy – because at the end of the day, I’ll end up hating on myself for wasting a perfectly good day getting nothing done .. If that makes sense in any way.. At the end of the day I’m just happier if I’ve kept busy and gotten things done – so I guess that’s something I’ll have to work with for the next five odd months, keeping myself busy on my project and getting things done – every day.. Should be fun.. Or at the very least challenging.. Wish me luck!

For now I’m off to bed, the clock has somehow ended up passing 3 AM again and I have a long day of reading and writing ahead of me tomorrow. I reckon it’s time to get some shut-eye and try my hands, once again, at developing a somewhat reasonable sleeping pattern!

Leave a Reply

