I find it kinda funny, I find it kinda sad..

Not a huge fan of covers, but this has got to be the second best cover song ever made.. Incidentally, it’s also from the second best movie also produced.. In my little mind at least..

Gary Jules covering Tears For Fear’s “Mad World” from the movie Donnie Darko

Yea, I know this isn’t the official video, which is arguably prettier, but I love the movie, so eh πŸ˜‰

Also, in case you’re wondering, the best cover song ever is, of course, Johnny Cash’s cover of Hurt, and I don’t think I need to tell you that the best movie ever made is The Shawshank Redemption..

3 responses to “I find it kinda funny, I find it kinda sad..

  1. Ah yeah! That song never gets old! I looove Donnie Darko. That movie is amazing…

    I actually didn’t know that Gary Jules version of the song was a cover… You learn something new every day πŸ™‚

  2. It most certainly doesn’t! It never fails to stir up some sort of emotion in me.. Just like the movie.. Which, I guess, is why they’re a perfect match for one another.

    You live, you learn πŸ˜‰ Not a lot of people do, actually, it’s a 20-something year old Tears For Fears song that had kinda faded into obscurity before this beautiful interpretation landed.. It’s one of those rare cases where I actually prefer the cover version over the original πŸ˜€

  3. It could be seen as an expression of the general depression in our age caused by the general populations detatchment from eachother. How people have a hard time expressing the indescribeable feelings they have about the world to eachother. The line “look right through me” would be the best reference to impersonal relationships in this age, caused by the “daily races” in which we are “going nowhere” and “running in circles”. If this song is through the eye’s of a teenager then it’s a very world conscious and depressed teenager.

Leave a Reply

