Well, it’s one way to spend a night off..

Oh joyous is me! Dunkel is apparently out with an eye infection, so I get to spend my planned night off this week going to work.. With a high risk of having to do new chores and working overtime.. Because somehow a scheduled import load didn’t arrive last Friday.. Causing Torben and I to give ourselves the rest of the night off then.. Which seemed like a good idea at the time because I was reasonably sure that it wouldn’t arrive before Monday.. And well, I had Monday off.

But, as we all know by now, karma is evidently a bitch and so, Dunkel, who was scheduled to cover the Monday shift and wholly enjoys working over time has now just called, saying he’s been to the eye doctor and need to give his eyes some rest, and antibiotics apparently. So I guess it’s up to me to cover tonight’s shift.

I’d tell him to call in sick, but hey.. That wouldn’t really be fair to Torben either, who’d then have to do everything on his own, so I guess I’ll once again play the role of the good samaritan and zoom off to help save the day. It more than likely won’t be too bad and I’m sure Dunkel will make it up to me at some point, I was just really looking forward to a night off.. Not that I’d really know what to do with it.. Other than finishing the beef stock I currently have simmering on the stove.. Which kinda poses another problem because I was kinda thinking I had all night to do that.. Or that I could’ve at least begged Tina to drop by and get it off the flame for me later.. But in a freak turn of events she’s apparently off in voluntary isolation somewhere working on her thesis.. So I guess I’ll just have to pray that it’s done by 7:30 PM πŸ˜€

Why am I making stock.. again.. in the first place, you might wonder? Well, Klaus, my mother’s boyfriend aka the mad skilled trained French chef asked me if I’d make him some French onion soup.. Which is really a no-go without stock.. But of course, I figured, that when a trained chef asks you to cook for him, that’s sort of a compliment of the more flattering variety, so of course the Johan abides.. And since I had a lot of time today, I figured why not? Only now, I don’t have a lot of time, so I’m quite worried about the whole process.. But we’ll see.. I’ve solved worse food-related crisises crises.

The good news on top of all the bitching is that at least my thesis seems to be coming around nicely so all things considered I do have the time available to zoom off to work for a couple of hours or six.. Money’s good, too.. And I have some happier, more positive updates coming up soon.. As soon as time permits anyways.. As of right now, I’m off to finish stock.. And dinner.. And thesis writing efforts.. And then work.. Aaah! Strangely enough, though, I feel no stress πŸ™‚

Catch ya on the flip side!

6 responses to “Well, it’s one way to spend a night off..

  1. Crisisses??? Mr. Buhl would be so disapointed πŸ˜‰

  2. Hahaha.. It’s the proper pluralization of the word… That I just made up! πŸ˜›

    Like you’re one to talk, love, have you looked at some of your own FB status updates lately? πŸ˜‰

  3. What?! I would like to know what exactly you’re talking about…

  4. Facebook πŸ˜€

    Since we’re nitpicking πŸ˜‰ I’m pretty sure statements such as “Zascha is off to pilates wishing it *was* taking place outside in the sun” would rub ol’ Mr Buhl the wrong way, too πŸ˜›

  5. okay, okay maybe I should’ve used future tense… but who cares πŸ˜‰

  6. I do not know.. Who cares about my improper pluralization? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

