Guess what I did today?

I’ve been outside the house for a change! And I’ve gotten my fill of rock n roll and cheap draft beers! And it was awesome! I’ve been wanting to get out for a while but have sorta kept myself back on account of me having been really, really sick for the past couple of weeks and not really wanting to risk anything.. Today, though, was the day when I finally felt up for the challenge, and I had some pretty good motivational factors to help me get out:

Some time ago, I read a flyer somewhere that a local cover band had changed their ways and morphed into a full fledged Bruce Springsteen cover band and labeled themselves “The Boss”. To celebrate this new-found calling, they apparently decided to throw a free inaugural concert at a small local venue. This concert was to take place today, January 10, and was apparently very conveniently scheduled for the date that I finally felt well enough to leave the house.

Okay, to be honest, I didn’t feel 100% well, but as we all know I pretty much hate just chilling on the couch by myself.. And I do like me some rock and roll,, And  beers.. And I absolutely adore The Boss (as in Bruce Springsteen).. So, the prospect of getting out, seeing a free show and getting a beer or two while listening to a tribute to one of my favorite artists was enough to raise me from my bed and get me out the door.

To be honest, I didn’t really know what to expect from the experience. I’d never heard of the band before nor had I heard any of their songs.. And I didn’t even decide on going until like half an hour before show time.. So all in all, I’d say I was a little apprehensive when I showed up at the venue. As it turned out, though, I may have been the only person in town aged 28 and above that hadn’t gotten the memo about this band, because when I showed up at the venue, the place was pretty much packed which is saying a lot for a free show by a relatively unknown band on an early Sunday afternoon in a 600 people venue.. Apparently this whole word of mouth thing works!

Either way, I showed up at the venue, quickly decided against checking my coat on account of the place being absolutely packed and having no hangers left for me to check my coat onto. Instead I headed for the bar and ordered a pint of stout on tap at the very reasonable price of DKK 40, then made my way towards the stage as we waited for the show to start.. In true, cool rock n roll fashion, the band was a few minutes late to take the stage.. And then, in not so cool a fashion, they decided to let their intro music loop twice before taking stage which left the crowd all but a little anxious and impatient.

Eventually the band did hit the stage.. More or less.. Which is to say that the lead singer took stage and opened with a one man acoustic version of Thunder Road. Half way through the song, the drummer walked on stage to get ready and by the end, the rest of the band also took stage and kicked into a personal favorite of mine: Atlantic City.

A lot could be said about the technical aspects and the music.. There were a few kinks here and there, especially in the beginning. The lead singer looked the part, but didn’t really soundlike Springsteen. That’s not to say he wasn’t a good singer though! And the band looked like the were truly having fun on stage and the crowd felt that as well, getting into the mood and spirit of the thing as well.. And isn’t that what live music is all about? Having a good time and rocking out?

What followed were basically 90 minutes of Bruce Springsteen’s greatest hits live. To name a few songs i no particular order: Radio Nowhere, Fire, Hungry Heart, The Rising, Born In The USA, My Hometown, Waitin’ on a Sunny Day.. And, of course, The River.. Which for some reason was introduced as Springsteen’s second most famous song to date.. I could probably lash out and start a huge debate over this, apparently a lot of people think that Born In The USA is better know.. But let’s leave it at that.

Encores, of which there were four (good show!) included Dancing In The Dark, Glory Days, on song I honestly don’t remember (hey, I’ve been sick for three weeks, cut me some slack) and one song that I didn’t know – some Irish folk inspired stuff which really had the place rocking. Much to my disappointment neither Badlands, Murder Incorporated or Born To Run were played. I hold these as solid Springteen classics and honestly expected them to show up on the setlist.. If not all of them, then at the very least Born To Run. I’m gonna go out on a whim here and probably insult a lot of Springsteen fans by saying that I’d love to have seen Born In The USA dropped from the setlist in favor of one of the above.. But then, I never though Born In The USA was a very good song, and a terrible live song to say the least.. But the general crowd dug it so maybe I’m in the minority here.

For an inaugural concert, and a free one at that, I’d say the boys did good.. Really good, actually.. I got to get my rock on and  most certainly had a blast, as well as a few really good, cheap beers. I might really go see these guys again some other time! Here are a few short video clips from the afternoon, courtesy of my camera phone, which goes to explain the crappy video and sound:

Radio Nowhere:

The River – didn’t quite know they were gonna do a sing-a-long version when I started recording, so bear with us here 😉 :

Leave a Reply

