Timberlake covers Cohen, and gets away with it? Hallelujah!

Something quite out of the ordinary happened this morning. I’d gotten off work and was sorta half assedly watching the live stream of Hope For Haiti without paying too much attention. Well, until another one of “wait, did that just happen?” moments took place.. On screen came Justin Timberlake and Matt Morris (American singer-song writer, son of country music star Gary Morris) and my first reaction was one of “Oh God no..” .. Which quickly turned into a reaction of “Oh.. Wow!” as they proceeded to perform this cover of Leonard Cohen’s immortal masterpiece “Hallelujah”

I’ve gone on record saying that Hallelujah, in my mind, is the most beautiful song ever written, and I’ll stick by that. I’ve also gone on record saying a lot of bad things about Justin Timberlake, something I’ll also have to stick by.. And I’m sorry if this offends anyone as my comments about Chris Cornell did, but for most of his career, Justin Timberlake has really annoyed me as an artist.. However.. HOWEVER.. He does redeem himself quite well with this cover.. And I can’t believe I’m even saying this.. But.. Good show, Mr. Timberlake, I’m honestly impressed! Hallelujah is a song that many people have tried to cover and very few have gotten away with it. This cover is up there with the very best of them.

There, I’ve said it, it’s out there on the interweb, I praised Justin Timberlake.. I feel weird..

Leave a Reply

