It’s not so bad, it’s not so bad at all..

I’ve really had a wonderful day today, but Ill get to that tomorrow.. What I just wanted to mention, especially for those who read this blog to keep up with every day events in the life of Johan is what happened when I got to work this evening.

In essence, I’ve been laid off from GLS – for what is probably the third time in my life, though this time probably for good. I can’t say it comes as much of a surprise as my tasks have more or less been disappearing over the course of the last few weeks and I was kinda warned that it would eventually and inevitably happen.. Still, even with the experience I have in the field, it was a bit of a meh experience.. It may not have been the best job in the world, the hours did suck and it wasn’t a very challenging position at all, but the money was good and the people were friendly.

To put it shortly, these are the terms of the termination of my contract:

  • I’ve been laid off as of today’s date.
  • My contract states a three week warning.
  • As such, I’ll be staying on board for another three weeks.
  • I’ll be guaranteed the same amount of hours and the same pay as I receive now for all of these three weeks.
  • My last day will be Monday, May 31.. that is unless I decide to take the day off in which case it will be Friday, May 28 instead.
  • I’ll receive a DKK 5000 termination bonus with my last pay check.
  • GLS thanks me for my time and effort and wish me luck in my future endeavors.

And that’s about it. A little sad, but then again.. Not really. I’m not gonna lie to you. I did this for the money, and the money only all along. I’ve never enjoyed working the hours I worked, I haven’t felt very challenged by the tasks I were given and last but not least, this job took a lot out of my personal and social life.. I’ve given up on so many things for this job, things that I can’t wait to get back..

I can’t wait to have a normal sleeping pattern (as normal a sleeping pattern as I’ll ever get, that is), I can’t wait to get my evenings back, I can’t wait to be able to hang out with Tina more again – on evenings as well, I can’t wait to have Friday night off like everybody else and enjoy a normal weekend, I can’t wait to be able to have a glass of wine with my dinner on weekdays if I should so chose.. And, this is probably gonna sound weird, but I can’t wait to wake up in the mornings and enjoy them rather than going to sleep in the mornings and calling 2 PM the break of dawn.

These are but some of the things I’ve missed, so while getting laid off always sucks, maybe for several important reasons it’s not that bad, not that bad at all.

Note: This was written on my work computer in about five minutes without spell check and on a keyboard with a few vital keys missing.. So if the spelling is even more messed up than usually and a few apostrophes and stuff are missing, please bear with me.

Leave a Reply

