Mr Kelly, I presume! (Johan has a brush with another random celebrity)

So get this.. There I am, just walking down the street, minding my own business, coming back from a stop at my go-to wine guy where I’d called looking for a bottle of Havana Club dark rum and ended up leaving with a bottle of Santa Teresa 1796 (which is an entirely different kind of rum and about three times as expensive as what I was after) – but that’s another story, I digress.

Anyways, there I was just walking down the street, minding my own business, swinging around my new bottle of Santa Teresa rum, when I walk idly by this street musician setting up on a corner.. Not something I thought a hell of a lot of since there is a steady supply of more or less talented and more or less stark raving drunk street performers doing their thing in a town of Kolding’s size.. There was, however something about this guy that made me pause and go “Huh? Wait a moment.. I know you..”

A look back revealed the street musician in question to be a somewhat cleaned up yet somewhat scruffy looking version of Angelo Kelly of late nineties pop-sensation “Kelly Family” infamy. After the initial shock of seeing a washed up version of a former world start standing on a street corner begging for attention of any kind had subsided, The pressing question of “WTF?” emerged in my mind. Upon relaying this question to Mr Kelly, the long, dignified answer took the shape of a rant about how nice it was to be off the road and away from the stress and, for once, being able to play away from the stage and the inevitable distance it created between him and his listeners.

“In other words,” I thought to myself, “money’s been a bit tight in the family lately, and you’re trying to make the best of what’s left of your fame?” – a suspicion which was confirmed when Mr Kelly a minute later pulled out an acoustic guitar, a sign reading “CD’s 50 DKK” and fell into a rather average cover of “The Fields of Athenry” – Umm, yeah, all is well, I’m just selling CD’s on the street for DKK 50 a pop for shit and giggles? Possibly, but it’d be a pretty weird business plan, weirder even than what I could come up with.

This is pretty ironic, I thought to myself as I stood there watching him do a pretty half-assed job of what I consider to be one of the best Irish traditional ballads. I seem to have a knack for randomly stumbling into celebrities that others would have loved to have met in the ways that I did, yet of whom I couldn’t really seem to give two fucks myself. Be it Ben Affleck, Michael Jackson, or more homely personas such as Mads Mikkelsen.. And now this bloke! Granted, most of these absolutely random encounters make for some pretty good stories and anecdotes, but how’s about letting me run into someone awesome for a change? Like, I dunno.. Chuck Norris, Bruce Dickinson (or Springsteen for that matter), Aquaman or one of those hot chicks from the movies? Just saying..

Oh well, it was still fun times, though, even if had more fun chatting with my wine guy than I did watching half a minute of Mr Kelly’s performance.. But that’s probably just me, I prefer 15 year old rum over fading pop stars, I’m weird like that.

Leave a Reply

