Welcome to the neighborhood

So, as you may have gathered from my last semi-rushed post, I have a new house mate. Her name is Annette, she’s a seemingly exceedingly nice middle-aged woman and I have a feeling we’re gonna get along quite nicely.. She seems, for whatever reason, to have taken a real liking to me as a person which means that I must have made one of my very rare entirely positive first impressions.

I’m not entirely sure what I did, but she seems reasonably impressed with everything I do, my very character, my spirits and my way of thinking.. That and she’s extremely jealous of my rum collection and my cooking abilities. Even when I told her a few days ago that Dunkel and I had every intention of getting shitfaced on a Tuesday, she thought I was just awesome.. Hmm!

The only thing I can think of that made her have such fond feelings about me is the fact that I kinda helped her move her stuff in without any real reason or encouragement other than the fact that I hate seeing a woman drag heavy loads on her own.. But that’s just who I am and if that makes me a particularly nice person, then so be it, I’d still hate to think that others would just ignore such things.. So yeah, of course I helped her out and apparently that saved her day and may have caused her to think that I’m the most awesomest guy in the world.. Man, if only all women were that easy to impress 😉

Anyways, ever since that fateful day, she’s been nothing but nice to me and has dropped by frequently with updates about the situation, requests, comments and smiles.. She’s even brought me presents! Yes, presents! See, not only does she apparently have this really warped impression that I’m a nice, sweet, young man, she also seems to have picked up on the fact that I’m a bit of a foodie. (geeze, you can’t sneak anything past anyone these days!) .. So, a couple of days ago, she dropped by with a half liter bottle of her own custom import quality Italian Extra Virgin Olive Oil to say thank you for all my help (which really only entailed a few hours worth of moving things while chatting happily). “This is for you,” she said, “under the condition that you save the bottle once you’re done so I may give you some more! It’s the least I could do to thank you for all your help and hard work.”

Well, umm, I didn’t really know what to say about that, but I thought it kinda dumb to protest and argue, so I just very humbly accepted her awesome present with a bit of a mumbled thank you and some staring at my feet. “Oh, one more thing, she added. The first time you try this, do it on nothing but garlic rubbed toast! You do have some white bread, don’t you?” – “I honestly can’t say that I do,” I replied, at which the poor women went even further out of her way to please me.. Because apparently just giving me a top shelf bottle of oil apparently wasn’t enough, no, she then jumped in her car, drove home, picked up two freshly baked loafs of bread (one Italian ciabatta thing and one whole grain loaf of unknown origin) which she presented to me with a smile and a “there you go my friend!” .. Wow!

I’m in no way certain what I did to deserve such special treatment, but I’m not gonna lie to you, I kinda dig it.. Only I think I may have to find some way of paying her back for all her generosity. Because I’m not quite sure that my “welcome to the neighborhood” present of finely tuning my stereo to the new housing conditions downstairs through the use of The Prodigy’s newest album on her first day in the house quite serves as a welcome present.. At least not one that measures up to hers! My girls are telling me that I should probably offer to cook for her some day seeing as she’s so interested in my culinary skills.. So I think that might be the plan.. Only, I think she may be a caterer in her free time, so that prospect kinda scares me.. But really, what’s a boy to do?

We’ll see, for now I’m quite happy with the new housing arrangements and quite spoiled.. Though I do honestly miss having Emelie around.. But at least she’s still close, so I still get to walk home with her after nightly visits at Tina’s and stuff, so it’s all good.. Oh, speaking of which, we do have one of those planned for tomorrow which I’m sure you’ll hear more about once I get my shit together and start blogging regularly again.. It’s nothing major, mind you, just a night of homemade burgers, beers and homemade fries with a couple of gorgeous, young women.. Okay, man, I am spoiled..

Leave a Reply

