Who needs cough syrup anyways?

I suppose it’s time for a bit of an update. I know they’re more than a little infrequent lately, but what’s a boy to do? I’m really not too happy about preparing for an oral exam while at the same time working on another project and writing a report to go along.. But, eh, to paraphrase AC/DC: “It’s a hard way to the top if you wanna rock ‘n’ Roll” .. And I do wants me some Rock ‘n’ Roll.. In three weeks none the less, so on I fight. Consequently, I’ve been sharing my days between coding, writing, revising, slapping my forehead with frustrations over my own stupidity, reading up on past assignments and doing some work at GLS in my limited time off.. Joy!

On top of that, I seem to have bagged myself a nice little cold which luckily doesn’t give me too much trouble.. Well, except from yesterday when I somewhat against my will decided to cough non-stop from I got off work at 1 AM, through the wee hours at around 4 AM when I decided to go to bed.. And well, even at 5 AM, I was still tossing and turning, coughing and groaning and pretty effectively ruining my throat in the process. So, what’s a boy to do? I couldn’t sleep as my mind had started wondering and I most certainly couldn’t stand my aching throat for much longer, tea had proven ineffective and I was all out of other ailments such as cough drops and cough syrup. I seemed at my wits end for a short while.. Until I remembered that they don’t call me the epitome of Rock ‘n’ Roll for nothing and that I do have a pretty well stocked home bar.. Fast forward two minutes and I was in the living room in my boxers, pouring a double shot of English Harbour Aged rum which I took back to bed and slowly consumed while doing some much missed non-school related reading. Fast forward another half hour and I was sound asleep, dark thoughts gone from my mind and the aching throat but a faint memory in the back of my head..

Ah yes, problem solving at its best! 😀

Leave a comment